McCarthy Makes Deal And Picks Up 14 More Votes For The House Speaker Seat

On the 12th ballot, Republican leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) gained the support of 14 Republicanss who had previously voted against him, making this the first time he has made progress against the group of 20 holdouts who had previously denied him the gavel.

After McCarthy made some compromises to his critics, the standoff was partially resolved. After voting against McCarthy in the first 11 rounds, Republicans Reps. Dan Bishop (NC), Josh Brecheen (OK), Andrew Clyde (GA), Michael Cloud (TX), Byron Donalds (FL), Anna Paulina Luna (R-FL), Mary Miller (IL), Ralph Norman (SC), Scott Perry (PA), chairman of the House Freedom Caucus, Chip Roy (TX), Keith Self (TX), Paul Gosar (AZ), and Andy Ogles (TN) all backed him.

Once a supporter of McCarthy’s, Indiana Representative Victoria Spartz has switched to being a “present” voter on previous votes before deciding to support him again.


On the 12th ballot, he won 213 votes, giving McCarthy his first plurality. Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY) scored a 211 and will take over as House Minority Leader. However, seven detractors persisted in their opposition, and the GOP’s razor-thin majority means he can afford to lose only four.

The remaining opposition to him is made up of Representatives. Members of the House of Representatives: Republicans Andy Biggs (AZ), Lauren Boebert (CO), Eli Crane (AZ), Matt Gaetz (FL), Bob Good (VA), Andy Harris (MD), and Matt Rosendale (MT) (R-MT).

Representative Mike Garcia (R-CA) delivered McCarthy’s first nomination speech of the day. He emphasized that “this is not about Kevin McCarthy.” We must protect the Constitution at all costs.

Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-FL) has switched his nomination three times in as many votes, most recently from Rep. Kevin Hern (R-OK) on the 10th ballot to former President Donald Trump on the 11th ballot, before settling on Rep. Jim Jordan (R-OH). Hern was once again proposed by Republican Colorado lawmaker Lauren Boebert.



Get latest news delivered daily!

We will send you breaking news right to your inbox

© 2024
Privacy Policy